The Life · Golf

Golf

Golfer at golden hour

We keep our golf the way we keep our word — measured. Every course on this page is recorded by the numbers that matter: holes, par, yardage, the architect’s name and whether the gate is public or private, so that when the house map arrives it is drawn from fact and not from memory.

The courses, in relief

The house is modelling its courses as physical reliefs, drawn only from open survey data and each club's own published card. A course joins the atlas when its mapping is verified — never before.

Newport Beach Country Club

In relief now — the model sits on the club's house notes page
CardPar 71 · 6,606 yards

Arriving with verified mapping

Big Canyon Country Club · Pelican Hill (Ocean North & Ocean South) · Newport Beach Golf Course · Strawberry Farms · Costa Mesa (Los Lagos & Mesa Linda)
StatusOpen mapping is partial for these courses; each is modelled when its ground can be drawn honestly.

Not yet mapped

Santa Ana Country Club · Shady Canyon Golf Club · Mesa Verde Country Club
StatusNo open mapping exists for these courses yet. The house does not invent ground — they join the atlas when we can map them from aerial survey ourselves.

Course Records

Nine facilities, eleven course records. Private clubs generally do not publish scorecards; where the research record gives an official scorecard or course page, the card says so.

Ocean North — Pelican Hill Golf Club

Newport Coast · Public / Resort
Holes18
Par71
Yardage6,945 yards
ArchitectTom Fazio
PracticeDriving range
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
Official scorecardPublished by the resort on its official golf pages.
Membership & costs

Published on the club's Gold Membership page, which notes that rates and policies are subject to change without notice:

Public — 18 holes, Sun–Thu$340
Public — 18 holes, Fri–Sat$415
Twilight$205 / $255
Evening$135 / $165
Gold guest — escorted$255 / $315
Gold guest — escorted twilight$165 / $205
Gold guest — escorted evening$105 / $125
Gold guest — unescorted$295 / $355
Gold guest — unescorted twilight$195 / $235
Gold guest — unescorted evening$125 / $145
Assigned locker$720 / year

Gold Membership is the club's published membership tier: unlimited golf, practice privileges, charging privileges, storage for one bag, 20% off the golf shop, 10% off rooms and 10% off food; tee times up to one month ahead, with evening tee times starting an hour earlier for members. The tier's own initiation fee and dues are not stated on the club's page.

Gold Membership at Pelican Hill ↗

House rules (as published)

A member may bring up to 3 escorted guests, and up to 4 unescorted guests with prior approval.

Ocean South — Pelican Hill Golf Club

Newport Coast · Public / Resort
Holes18
Par70
Yardage6,580 yards
ArchitectTom Fazio
PracticeDriving range
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
Official scorecardPublished by the resort on its official golf pages.
Membership & costs

Published on the club's Gold Membership page, which notes that rates and policies are subject to change without notice:

Public — 18 holes, Sun–Thu$340
Public — 18 holes, Fri–Sat$415
Twilight$205 / $255
Evening$135 / $165
Gold guest — escorted$255 / $315
Gold guest — escorted twilight$165 / $205
Gold guest — escorted evening$105 / $125
Gold guest — unescorted$295 / $355
Gold guest — unescorted twilight$195 / $235
Gold guest — unescorted evening$125 / $145
Assigned locker$720 / year

Gold Membership is the club's published membership tier: unlimited golf, practice privileges, charging privileges, storage for one bag, 20% off the golf shop, 10% off rooms and 10% off food; tee times up to one month ahead, with evening tee times starting an hour earlier for members. The tier's own initiation fee and dues are not stated on the club's page.

Gold Membership at Pelican Hill ↗

House rules (as published)

A member may bring up to 3 escorted guests, and up to 4 unescorted guests with prior approval.

Big Canyon Country Club

Newport Beach · Private, Member-Owned
Holes18
Par72
Yardage6,919 yards from the back tees — post-1998 renovation figure; some course databases list 6,981, a variance noted in the research record
ArchitectRobert Muir Graves (1971); renovated by John Harbottle III (1998)
Established1971
PracticeDriving range
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
Official scorecardNot published by the club.
Membership & costs

Membership is by invitation at this member-owned club. The club states that its staff is only permitted to provide membership information to Club members — details are obtained through a member.

Newport Beach Country Club

Newport Beach · Private

Hosts the Hoag Classic.

Holes18
Par71
Yardage6,606–6,612 yards, from PGA Tour Champions official scorecards, varying by year
ArchitectWilliam “Billy” Bell & Sons (1954); renovations by Harry Rainville (1973), Ted Robinson Sr. (1985/1998/1999) and Casey O’Callaghan (2019/2022)
Established1954
PracticeDriving range
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
Official scorecardPublished for the Hoag Classic via the PGA Tour; the club does not publish a public scorecard.
Membership & costs

Membership by invitation and sponsorship only; the club directs inquiries to its Director of Membership.

Santa Ana Country Club

Santa Ana · Private, Invitation-Only
Holes18
Par72
Yardage6,812 yards from the Pro tees; stretchable beyond 7,000 for events, per FORE Magazine/SCGA
ArchitectOriginal course at this site attributed to John Duncan Dunn; comprehensive redesign by Jay Blasi completed in 2016
EstablishedClub founded 1901; at this site since 1923
PracticeFull-length double-ended driving range, short-game area, putting and chipping greens
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
Official scorecardNot published by the club.

Shady Canyon Golf Club

Irvine · Private
Holes18
Par71
Yardage7,012 yards
ArchitectTom Fazio
Opened2002
SettingA 300-acre preserve
PracticeDriving range, putting green and short-game area
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
Official scorecardNot published by the club.
Membership & costs

Membership by invitation only, as the club states.

House rules (as published)

The club publishes a guest dress code, recorded here as published. Course and practice facilities — ladies: skirts, slacks, sundresses, or golf and Bermuda-length shorts (mid-thigh); golf-fashion sleeveless and collarless shirts are acceptable. Not permitted: leggings, yoga pants, cutoffs, halter tops, exposed midriffs, workout attire, or swimwear — and denim of any kind is not permitted. Gentlemen: collared, turtleneck, or mock shirts, tucked in with a belt; slacks or golf and Bermuda shorts. Not permitted: workout attire, cargo shorts, t-shirts, tank tops, swimwear, or beach flip-flops. At the Golf Grills: the same base code, with sandals welcome (closed-toed for men), hats permitted indoors, and tasteful denim acceptable if neat and hole-free.

Mesa Verde Country Club

Costa Mesa · Private, Member-Owned
Holes18
Par71
Yardage6,726 yards from the longest tees per GolfLink; GolfPass lists 6,803, a variance noted in the research record
ArchitectWilliam F. “Billy” Bell (1959); renovated by Cary Bickler (2018, per an SCGA championship fact sheet)
EstablishedClub and course established 1959
PracticeDriving range
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
Official scorecardNot published by the club.
Membership & costs

The club publishes its categories, not its costs: Full Golf Equity · Junior Golf (non-equity, under age 40) · Social Tennis. Membership is by invitation only, per the club.

Membership at Mesa Verde ↗

Newport Beach Golf Course

Newport Beach · Public

The course’s own description calls it “the only public golf course in Newport Beach.”

Holes18-hole executive course
Par59
Yardage3,216 yards
ArchitectsHarry & David Rainville
Opened1966 in most course records; GolfLink lists 1976, a variance noted in the research record
PlayLighted for night play
PracticeDriving range and putting green
9-hole optionsNo separate 9-hole product is stated in the research record; the course is an 18-hole executive layout.
Membership & costs

The course publishes its full rate card (walking):

  • Mon–Thu — 9 holes: Regular $21 · Senior $19 · Junior $17; 18 holes: Regular $29 · Senior $27 · Junior $22.
  • Fri–Sun & holidays — 9 holes: Regular $26 · Senior $22 · Junior $17; 18 holes: Regular $34 · Senior $30 · Junior $22.
  • Pull carts $5 (Senior/Junior $3); electric carts $18 for 9 holes, $24 for 18, Senior 18 holes $20.
  • Range balls: Small $7 (35 balls) · Medium $12 (70) · Large $15 (105).

Rates and Regulations ↗

House rules (as published)

No spectators; every player must have their own clubs and bag; no rainchecks, credits, or refunds once a round has started; carts are first-come, first-served, with no cart reservations; a cart driver must be 21 or older.

Los Lagos — Costa Mesa Country Club

Costa Mesa · Public
Holes18
Par72
Yardage6,547 yards
ArchitectsWilliam F. Bell with Ronald Fream
Opened1967
Practice30-bay night-lit driving range, per the club
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
House event noteThe facility hosts the Costa Mesa City Championship.
Membership & costs

The club's published Los Lagos rate card (walking):

18 holes — Mon–Thu / Fri / Weekend$45 / $49 / $65
9 holes$25 / $28 / $32
Senior — Costa Mesa residents 60+, Mon–Thu$21
Twilight$31 / $36 / $42
Super Twilight$23 / $25 / $28
Cart — 18 holes / 9 holes$36 / $24
Cart — Twilight / Senior$30 / $26
House rules (as published)

No rain checks and no refunds; holiday rates are the weekend rates; online demand-based pricing applies Friday–Sunday; tee times open online 8 days in advance from 6 AM.

Mesa Linda — Costa Mesa Country Club

Costa Mesa · Public
Holes18
Par70
Yardage5,486 yards
ArchitectsWilliam F. Bell with Ronald Fream
Opened1967
Practice30-bay night-lit driving range, per the club
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
House event noteThe facility hosts the Costa Mesa City Championship.

Strawberry Farms Golf Club

Irvine · Public, Daily-Fee
Holes18
Par71
Yardage6,700 yards
ArchitectJim Lipe
Opened1997
SettingAround a 35-acre reservoir in Sand Canyon
PracticeDriving range
9-hole optionsNo 9-hole product is published in the research record.
Membership & costs

From the club's own store: a Range Card at $140–$210 (Medium / Large). The club also markets membership special offers and a Player's Card program.

Range Card at Strawberry Farms ↗

← The Life